399 Low Head Road
Low Head
Tasmania 7253

Phone: 03 63821143


website design software

Low Head Pilot Station Maritime Museum

About Us

Support Group:

The Low Head Pilot Station Support Group Inc. is a volunteer group with a keen interest in preserving the maritime history of the area.

The main activity of the Support Group is the management of the Maritime Museum. The Museum encompasses Pilotsí Row, Storage Sheds, Boat Shed, Fog Horn and Artifacts situated around the grounds of the Pilot Station.

The administration consists of two committees, Museum and General, with the General Committee able to appoint sub committees.


Our late curator and founder Wayne Shipp accepting a donation from Tasports.

Low Head Pilot Station Museum Committee: This Committee has the overall responsibility for the Museum which trades with the name of the Pilot Station Museum.

Chairman:        Peter Cox
Members:         Graeme Dineen
                       Des Wootton
                       Mike Nash (Parks & Wildlife)

Support Group General Committee: Provides general support for all aspects of the Pilot Station precinct.

Chairman:            Peter Cox
Vice Chairman:     Des Wootton
Secretary:           John Watts
Treasurer:           Jill Holland
Public Officer:      Graeme Dineen
Committee:         Don Heather
                           Adrienne Smeeton
                           Zanette Crowden
                           Willemina Watts
                           Lorraine Wootton
                           Jacqui Smart (co-opt
                           Robert Gunn (Low Head Co.)
                           David Frelek (Parks & Wildlife)
                           Steve Gordon (LHP&HA)
Life Members:      Douglas Atkins, Wayne Shipp (dec)
Auditor:               Paul Gale

Support Group Sub Committees:

The following sub committees operate under the chairmanship of the following.

Museum Curators:             Peter Cox (chair) & Des Wootton
Redpa:                             Des Wootton
Grounds & Maintenance:   John Watts
Fog Horn:                        Zanette Crowden
Social:                            Willimena Watts

[Home] [About Us] [Find Us] [News Page] [Museum] [Boat Shed] [Foghorn] [Redpa] [Ponrabbel] [Hebe Reef] [Eden Holme] [Research] [Related Links]